International Workshop on Cloud Microphysics - Turbulence Interaction

28.02. - 01.03.2017

Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research, Leipzig, Germany



During the last 4 years at the Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research (TROPOS) in Leipzig, Germany, we have been working on the realization of a unique moist air wind tunnel (LACIS-T) for studying cloud microphysical processes in a turbulent environment. The microphysical processes to be investigated in the near future are cloud droplet activation and freezing.

Dr. Frank Stratmann, Dr. Jens Voigtländer and Dr. Dennis Niedermeier from TROPOS as well as Prof. Raymond Shaw from Michigan Technological University (MTU), Houghton, USA and Prof. Jörg Schumacher from TU Ilmenau, Germany represent the nucleus of the wind tunnel project.

To generate and discuss future research ideas concerning the interactions between turbulent and cloud microphysical processes in general, and future topics and collaborations with respect to activities at LACIS-T in particular, we are planning a workshop at TROPOS from February 28th – March 1st 2017. The workshop will be structured in 2 sections, 1) 15 min presentations of the participants briefly summarizing their interests, expertise, and research suggestions, and 2) an open discussion of the future research needs, activities, and collaborations. Ideally, the workshop results will be reported as a scientific publication.


Confirmed Speakers

Jérémie Bec - Observatoire de la Côte d'Azur

Eberhard Bodenschatz - Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization

Will Cantrell - Michigan Technological University

Paul Götzfried - Technische Universität Ilmenau

Toshiyuki Gotoh - Nagoya Institute of Technology

Steven Krueger - University of Utah

Szymon P. Malinowski - University of Warsaw

Juan Pedro Mellado - Max-Planck-Institute for Meteorology

Dennis Niedermeier - Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research

Jakub Nowak - University of Warsaw 

Joachim Peinke - Universität Oldenburg

Izumi Saito - Nagoya Institute of Technology

Ewe Wei Saw - CEA Saclay

Jörg Schumacher - Technische Universität Ilmenau

Shin-ichiro Shima - University of Hyogo

Raymond A. Shaw - Michigan Technological University 

Holger Siebert - Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research

Frank Stratmann - Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research

Miklós Szakáll - Universität Mainz

Dominique Thévenin - Universität Magdeburg

Jens Voigtländer - Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research



The program is now available. (link)

On Feb 27 we want to meet at Zills Tunnel restaurant for dinner starting at 6pm.
On Feb 28 we will have the conference dinner at Moritzbastei.



Dennis Niedermeier

Jens Voigtländer

Frank Stratmann